Ingrained Historic

Contact the shop fletxa dreta contacta



In 1910, Francisco Segura opened the first umbrella factory in Mallorca. The product was manufactured in the back room and then sold in the adjoining premises, which were smaller than the current one. Although the company’s own production was exclusive to umbrellas, it also offered walking sticks (gaiatos) and fans, to which more recently gloves, shawls, mantillas and combs have been added.

In February of 1980, the factory and workshop were closed, and the retail space was enlarged. It was at this time that the shop’s sign lost part of its name and retained the letters of Paraguas, which remain on the façade. Next to it, the figure of a closed umbrella recalls the tradition of the old shops of yesteryear.

In 1968, Maribel Segura, the founder’s granddaughter, took over the business. The shop is currently run by her daughter, Maribel Moyá, the fourth generation of the family.

This establishment has a loyal clientele due to the unique products it sells. Its unbeatable location on Carrer de Jaume II and the typical articles on offer mean that it receives a large number of tourists who take away a souvenir of their visit to the city.